What Is Medicare?

Medicare is a Federal health insurance program for people who are 65 and older and for certain disabled people. Both you and your spouse automatically qualify for Medicare if you are 65 years of age and you are eligible for Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits.

Medicare has two parts: Part A is hospital insurance and is free. Part B is supplementary medical insurance and has a premium.

Types of Medicare Health Plans:

The Original Medicare Plan (sometimes called fee-for-service) – everyone with Medicare eligible, available nationwide, many people have Medigap policy
Medicare + Choice Plans:
Medicare managed care plans (like HMOs)
Medicare Private Fee-for-Service plans

How To Get?

Medicare recipients who also have low incomes may qualify to receive aid from Medicaid. Medicaid is a Federal program that offers health care coverage for certain low-income people. Eligibility includes people who are aged, blind, or disabled or certain people in families with dependent children. Since Medicaid is run by each state, your particular state determines who is eligible and what range of health services are offered.

For people who are eligible for full Medicaid coverage, the Medicare health care coverage is supplemented by services that are available under their State’s Medicaid program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *